10-Rep Learning ~ Teague's Tech Treks

Learning Technology & Tech Observations by Dr. Helen Teague

By

Before…

Before I was a Mom
I made and ate hot meals.
I had unstained clothing.
I had quiet conversations on the phone.Before I was a Mom,
I slept as late as I wanted
I never tripped over toys
I never forgot words of lullabies.Before I was a Mom
I didn’t worry if my plants were poisonous.
I never thought about immunizations.Before I was a Mom
I had never been spit on
Chewed on
Or pinched by tiny fingersBefore I was a Mom
I never looked into teary eyes and cried.
I was never gloriously happy over a simple grin.
I never sat up late hours at night watching a baby sleep.
I never woke up every 10 minutes to make sure all was okay

Before I was a Mom
I never held a sleeping baby just because I didn’t want to put it down.
I never knew that something so small
Could affect my life so much.
I never knew that I could love someone so much.
I never knew I would love being a Mom.

The joy
The love
The heartache
The wonder
Or the satisfaction of being a Mom.

I didn’t know I was capable of feeling so much before I was a Mom.

 

 

 

One Response to Before…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar